27 – Nova Scotia

9 Jul

Rats! I’ve already fallen behind. It’s just that… Well, I’ll pay you $10 if you can find us a place to live in Sioux Falls that accepts dog(s), has a dishwasher and washer and dryer in the unit, is clean and livable and is in our budget.

So yes, I’ve been consumed not only with the online apartment search, but also with our pool. You see, where we’re staying it is typically 100+ degrees Every. Single. Day. And it’s as humid as a country mile is long (you can bet I picked that one up down here). Which is to say, it’s downright miserable outside. But! My tan is amazing! And! I’ve been working out really hard so I don’t feel quite as awkward in a swimsuit. Also I will never see these people again, also who cares? On a hot Oklahoma day in the middle of Joo-lie after an exhausting sweaty workout, a lazy float in a pool is way more interesting than blogging about my bucket list on the Internet.

Mid-day at the Oasis, OKC

I’m a day behind. And yet, before I get into the list, it’s imperative that I also tell you about a disturbing development. My accent is back, ya’ll. From about ages 1 to 7 I lived in the South and Southwest and as the story goes, I moved out to California with quite a drawl. Every time I have visited a state south of the Mason Dixon I’ve had to be conscious of my accent, lest I be accused of mocking the locals. This extended stay has proven to be too much for my brain to handle. Y’ALL!

At least it’s not a Canadian accent, eh?

Speaking of Canada, fourth on my bucket list: Second Honeymoon to Nova Scotia

When L and I were planning our wedding back in 2007 and 2008, a honeymoon in Nova Scotia was our greatest desire (that, and a semi-casual backyard bbq, a blue wedding dress, and bunch of other things that were not meant to be). When the time came we were only able to afford a trip to the Canadian boarder along the Gunflint Trail in Minnesota.

Oh, Canada is o'er there.

I will never regret that honeymoon in the wilderness, but I’ve never gotten over Nova Scotia. One day I will visit you, Canada! And I will bring my husband and it will be brilliant. And we will cross our fingers that I will leave with only photographs for souvenirs and not a Canadian accent.

Leave a Reply

