Playlist du jour

15 Feb

Sometimes it takes some truly spectacular music to get me in the mood to workout. I suspect this may be true for others as well. Today I was in no mood to workout… but I desperately wanted to put off my school work too. Having recently updated my iTunes workout playlist I opted out of the dance workout dvds and instead hopped on the elliptical machine that is currently collecting dust in our “office” (which is actually more like a disastrous storage unit at this point).

The iPod shuffled the right mix today and I thought I’d share it. It’s full of some songs that are no longer hip, maybe overplayed on the radio- but I only listen to NPR in the car anyway so it’s all fresh to me! Maybe there’s something new here for you (my one and only reader) to enjoy? This playlist is approximately 50 minutes long and includes warm-up and cool down tunes.

  1. Line it Up – Mayda (local lady love)
  2. Big Girl Now – NKOTB and Lady Gaga
  3. We R Who We R – Ke$ha
  4. Gotta Get Thru This – Daniel Bedingfield
  5. Stronger – Kanye (he’s-my-boyfriend-don’t-even-care-if-he’s-a-jerk) West
  6. Stockholm Syndrome – Muse
  7. Heads Will Roll – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
  8. Beggin’ – Madcon
  9. Only Girl (In the World) – Rihanna
  10. Bright Lights Bigger City – Cee Lo (did you see his pug puppet at the Grammys!?)
  11. American Boy – Estelle feat. Kanye (again, dang!)
  12. Back to Life – Slow Spokes (for a little more local flava)
  13. Day n Night – Kid Cudi (for the stretch out)

Some people reward themselves with gossip magazines while working out. I allow myself to listen to ridiculous and vapid pop (hence the Ke$ha) while I’m working out (although that list is not entirely comprised of bad pop!). It’s an incentive, it allows me to zone out and focus on the beat and the workout, and it’s an indulgence I look forward to.

2 Responses to “Playlist du jour”

  1. Val February 15, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    He’s my boyfriend and I don’t care if he’s a jerk either!

  2. Jonathan@GymDJ February 16, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    Have you heard Glee’s mash up of Heads Will Roll with Thriller? They added more pop than the Yeah Yeah Yeahs version.

Leave a Reply

